Pictured, 2015 Inductees Hymie Fox, Ralph & Pat Watts (for their father Ralph), Erin Soroko-Drazik & Coleen Dufresne

WATCH VIDEO: The Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame is pleased to announce its Class of 2015. Congratulations to our newest inductees. The official induction will take place on Saturday, October 3, 2015 at the Victoria Inn Hotel in Winnipeg.


Winnipeg Free Press #1
Winnipeg Free Press #2
Global News
Brandon Sun
CKLQ Radio Interview with Earnest Bell


  • Earnest Bell – Brandon University Bobcats, 1999-2001 ; in both of his years at BU he was a CIAU/CIS All-Canadian, GPAC Player of the Year, GPAC scoring and rebounding leader and a National Tournament All-Star ; played professionally in Denmark 
  • Terry Garrow – University of Manitoba Bisons 1984-88 ; CIAU/CIS All-Canadian in 1988; three-time GPAC All-Star in 1986,'87&'88 ;  member of the CIAU/CIS bronze medal winning Bisons in 1986 ; played professionally with the Winnipeg Thunder
  • Erin Soroko-Drazic – Miles Macdonell Collegiate ; University of Winnipeg Wesmen 1996-2001 ; three-time CIS/CIAU All-Canadian in 1998,'99, & 2000 ; three-time GPAC/Canada West All-Star


  • Coleen Dufresne – Head Coach University of Manitoba Bison Women 1984-2001 ; three-time CIAU/CIS National Champions (1988, '95 & '96) ; 3-time National Coach-of-the-Year (1983-UNB and 1988 &'98-UM) ; seven-time conference Coach-of-the-Year ; Bison Athletic Director 2001-present ; Basketball Manitoba provincial team coach
  • Hymie Fox – coached for over 30 years mainly at Kelvin High School 1976-2003 ;  1999 MHSAA 'AAAA' Provincial Champions ; teams reached the final four seven times ; coach at the International Peace Gardens summer camp 1974-80 ; coach 1983 Manitoba Western Canada Games team (bronze medal)
  • Maureen Orchard – President IWBF (International Wheelchair Basketball Association) 2002-present ; Canadian Wheelchair Basketball Association executive 1985-98 ; Basketball Manitoba Board of Directors 1960-2007 ; Basketball Canada Board of Directors 1975-86 ; National Teams Director 1977-81 ; Vice President and Treasurer for Basketball Canada 1979-86 ; coach and referee
  • Ralph Watts – founder of the Winnipeg Jr. Men's League in 1968 ; President of the MABA (Manitoba Amateur Basketball Assoc.) 1978-82 which became Basketball Manitoba ; chair of the founding committee which established the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame ; coached many junior and senior men's and women's teams ; only the second person to be inducted in all three Hall of Fame categories (player, builder, team) ; died in 1987 and will be inducted posthumously


  • Lord Selkirk Regional High School Royals Varsity Girls – MHSAA Provincial 'B' Champions 1975, 1976 and 1978
  • Lord Selkirk Regional High School Royals Varsity Boys – MHSAA Provincial 'B' Champions 1977, 1978, 1979 and 1981

More information is available from Ross Wedlake at (204) 668-9494 or rosswedlake@gmail.com

For more information on the Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum, please go to http://www.mbhof.com
Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...