• News Ticker

    Basketball's Sandra Carroll and Coleen Dufresne to be Inducted into Manitoba Sport Hall of Fame

    Manitoba Basketball Hall of Fame members Sandra Carroll (Class of '07) and Coleen Dufresne (Class of '15) have been announced as Class of '17 inductees into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.  

    A graduate of John Taylor Collegiate, Sandra played her university basketball at the University of Winnipeg. A prolific scorer and skillful play maker,Sandra was instrumental in the Wesmen winning 3 consecutive Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) national championships. Sandra was a 4-time CIS All-Canadian in 1992, ’93, ’94, and ’95 and a 3-time CIS Player of the Year in 1993, ’94, and ’95. In 1994 and 1995, she was the CIS championship MVP.

    Since graduating, Sandra has been playing professional basketball in Germany, where she is consistently a top scorer in the league. At the end of the 2007 season, she was the leading scorer in the German 1st Bundesliga.

    Coleen Dufresne came to Manitoba after a successful career as a player at the University of Ottawa and with Canada’s National Team. After coaching the University of New Brunswick, she accepted the head coaching position with the University of Manitoba Bisons Women’s team in 1984, a position she held for 17 years. In those years, she established the Bison women’s program as one of the best in Canada, winning three CIAU/CIS National Championships - 1988, 1996 and 1997 and two silver and two bronze medals. She was twice named National Coach of the Year in 1983 and 1998 and conference all-star coach seven times. 

    In 2001 she became Athletic Director at the University of Manitoba and has provided strong leadership in all Bison sports. In addition, she was a coach for various National Teams
    in the Pan-Am Games, World Championships and Student Games and our Team Manitoba provincial teams. In 2005 she was a recipient of a YMCA/YWCA Woman of Distinction award. She has been, and continues to be, a strong role model for women in sport. 

    On November 4, 2017 a total of five athletes, three builders and one team will be inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame at the 38th Annual Induction Ceremony at the Victoria Inn in Winnipeg. The 2017 inductees are:

    Sandra CARROLL                
    Basketball, Athlete

    Image result for maniotba sport hall of fame mbhof.comJaimie DAWSON                
    Badminton, Athlete

    Coleen DUFRESNE
    All Round, Builder 

    Wayne HILDAHL                 
    Sport Medicine/Special Olympics, Builder
     *Arthur (Art) JOHNSTON            
    Golf, Builder

    Jamie (HANCHARYK) JONES        
    All Round, Athlete

    Cindy KLASSEN                
    Speed Skating, Athlete

    Bob KRAEMER                
    All Round, Athlete

    1995 Kelly MacKenzie Team         
    Curling, Team


    “These eight individuals and one team join an exclusive club of Manitoba’s finest in sport,” says Jamie Kraemer, Chair of the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. “We strive to collect, preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sport excellence and achievement and these eight recipients and one team have earned their place in Manitoba’s sport history. Collectively with those we honoured back in April at Sport Manitoba’s Night of Champions in our Veteran Induction, 2017 is an exceptional slate!”

    Tickets for the Induction Dinner go on sale June 27, 2017. Ticket and event information can be found at: or by calling Rick Brownlee at 204-925-5736.

    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    We welcome your memories on this person or team and how they impacted the sport of basketball in Manitoba!

    Item Reviewed: Basketball's Sandra Carroll and Coleen Dufresne to be Inducted into Manitoba Sport Hall of Fame Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Basketball Manitoba
    Scroll to Top