Back row – Left to Right – Walt McKee (Athletic Director), Carol Ploen-Hosegood (Ass’t. Coach), Coleen Dufresne (Coach) with son Nicholas, Victoria Neufeld, Jackie Burgoyne, Rachel Durksen, Mike Hickey (Ass’t. Coach), Anne Smith, Marjorie Kelly, Treena Moran, Connie Ehlmann
Front Row – Stacy Yuel, Kyla Koskie, Glenda Clark, Terri-Lee Johannesson, Jana Taylor

Back Row – Left to Right – Laurie May (Ass’t. Coach), Laurie Ann Palmer, Liann Bailey (Athletic Therapist), Marjorie Kelly, Carol Ploen-Hosegood (Ass’t. Coach), Gabri Macra, Jana Taylor, Diana Dela Cruz, Carla Bodnarus, Kyla Koskie, Treena Moran, Glenda Clark, Anne Smith, Megan Dixon, Mike Hickey (Ass’t. Coach), Tracy Gordon (Athletic Therapist) Coleen Dufresne (Coach)
Front Row – Victoria Neufeld, Lorissa Crellin, Teri-Lee Johannesson

Inductee Information

Team Year
1996 & 1997 Manitoba Bisons

Women's Basketball Teams

Induction Year

Two Time Back to Back CIS National Champions
Back to back national championships ! The University of Manitoba Bisons Women won the first of two consecutive national championships in Laval in 1996 by defeating the Toronto Varsity Blues 81 – 77 in overtime. In 1997, they duplicated this result in Lakehead with a convincing 73 – 62 win over York in the national final. The teams were known for their full-court pressure and tremendous character which saw them work through many tight situations in the GPAC playoffs and at the national tournaments.

Subscribe to Email Newsletter
Share this article to...