• News Ticker

    Ross L. Gray Raiders (Sprague) - 1973-74, 1974-75, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1985-86 & 1988-89

    BACK: Kathy Moorhead, Betty Templeman (Asst. Coach), Kathy
    Espeland, Karen Kemp, Rachel Bartinski, Geraldine Cote, Valerie
    Machej, Susan Templeman, Sharon Stewart, Cheryl Olson, Mr. Terry
    Gotziaman (Coach) 
    FRONT: Cindy Cote, Kim Cayer, Lynn Cote,
    Delanie Prasek, Lydia Cote, Gail Olson

    BACK: Mr. Terry Gotziaman (Coach) Lydia Cote, Susan Templeman,
    Karen Kemp, Valerie Machej, Geraldine Cote, Sally Prevost, Gail Olson,
    Kathy Moorhead (Manager), Betty Templeman (Asst. Coach)
    FRONT: Kim Cayer, Cindy Cote, Delanie Prasek, Sharon Stewart,
    (Missing Rachel Bartinski)

    BACK: Asst. Coach Betty Templeman, Elaine Sandul (Manager),
    Karen Baines, Lyn Blackburde, Wendy Czechmeister, Gina Cayer,
    Sandra Cisar, Sharran Culleton, Milli McLeod, Coach Mr. Terry
    FRONT: Cindy Cote, Sharon Stewart, Delanie Prasek,
    Pam Ruud, Tammy Rozsa

    BACK: Coach Mr. Mark Gadient, Mary Hebel (Manager),
    Penny Hovorka, Gayleen Rozsa, Wendy Thunder, Dee Dee Ostrom,
    Nicky Cote, Janine Baines, Lori Kromlei (Stats), Coach Mr. Terry
    FRONT: Sharran Culleton, Sandra Cisar, Pam Ruud, Lyn
    Blackburde, Wendy Czechmeister

    BACK: Coach Mr. Mark Gadient,
    Theresa Johanson (Manager), Joyce Praymayer, Janine Baines,
    Gayleen Rozsa, Andrea Spicer, Nicky Cote, Tara Prasek (Stats)
    Coach Mr. Terry Gotziaman
    FRONT: Lori Stewart, Wendy Thunder, Wendy Czechmeister,
    Lyn Blackburde, Penny Hovorka 

    BACK: Coach Mr. Mark Gadient, Tara Prasek (Stats)
    Nicole Cote, Kim Buzahora, Emilia Hovorka,
    Penny Turgeon, Theresa Johanson (Manager)
    FRONT: Cheryl Brown, Penny Hovorka,
    Wendy Thunder, Lori Stewart, Gayleen Rozsa

    BACK: Coach Mr. Don McWhirter, Tara Prasek (Stats)
    Cheryl Brown, Emilia Hovorka, Laura Krasniuk, Susan McLeod, Leah
    Hebel, Coach Mr. Mark Gadient 
    FRONT: Lisa Preteau, Patricia Brown,
    Adriane Cote Dawn Bartinski, Alana Fostey (Manager)

    BACK: Alana Fostey (Stats) Bonnie Zimmerman, Deanna Chenier,
    Christa Vogt, Michelle Jernberg, Monique Tardiff, Coach Mr. John
    FRONT: Melissa Hovorka, Cindy Czechmeister,
    Lorelie Rozsa, Tina Schoenbach
    Inductee Information

    Team Year

    1973-74, 1974-75, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1985-86 & 1988-89


    Ross L. Gray Raiders (Sprague) - Varsity Girls

    Induction Year



    6 MHSAA Provincial ‘A’ Championships & 2 MHSAA Provincial ‘AA’ Championships
    The Raiders of Ross L. Gray School in Sprague established a true dynasty in Manitoba high school basketball by winning eight MHSAA provincial championships over two decades. With the rapid consolidation of schools between 1966 and 1968, the Consolidated School District of Sprague was formed. The first principal, Mr. Marvin Hovorka, felt that basketball would be a great team sport for the students. The Sprague Centennial Hall was used as the first gymnasium before the present school gym was opened in 1972. The Raiders won six ‘A’ championships and two ‘AA’ level championships.

    • Website Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    We welcome your memories on this person or team and how they impacted the sport of basketball in Manitoba!

    Item Reviewed: Ross L. Gray Raiders (Sprague) - 1973-74, 1974-75, 1977-78, 1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1985-86 & 1988-89 Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Basketball Manitoba
    Scroll to Top